Grown in the wild


For thousands of years people have been eating foods grown in the wild, such as wild greens, mushrooms, roots, fruits, berries, vegetables, and flowers. But how to identify what you can eat and what you can’t? I’m not very good at it. Can you tell the difference between a tasty paddy straw mushroom and a toxic death cap? And the berries? Can you distinguish the edible from the poisonous variety?

01_DSC_0650

02_DSC_0655

03_DSC_0690

04_DSC_0691

05_DSC_0692

06_DSC_0704

07_DSC_0711

08_DSC_0719

09_DSC_0720

10_DSC_0724

11_DSC_0733_fo

 

I don’t even know what kind of mushrooms I photographed last week. I bet you can’t eat them.

6 thoughts on “Grown in the wild

  1. Beautiful photos of berries. I always think if the birds leave the berries on the bushes and trees then they are probably poisonous. Hawthorn and Rowan are nice in jellies, rosehips also in syrups renowned for their vitamin C content however you have to remove the hairy seeds inside rosehips.They all make autumn very colourful. :-)

    Like

  2. I fear that I would succumb to a dire sickness if I had to depend on my knowledge of wild foods that are safe to eat! Lovely berry photos.

    Like

Leave a Reply

